Best Brands 2020

 

Best Brands College

In order to underline the informative aspect of Best Brands, prior to the evening’s award ceremony is a congress during the day. At the Best Brands College 2020 high-profile speakers discussed the overriding topic of “Purpose as the new currency – How companies are positioning themselves as successful future brands with value-oriented brand management”.

 

Best Brands College 2020

House of Communication Munich
Brienner Straße 45 a-d
80333 Munich

19. February 2020
Get Together: 9 am

Agenda 2020

Kristin Rau

Host

Kristin Rau, Deputy Head Innovation & Success, WirtschaftsWoche

  

Profile
Beat Balzli

The business of making the world a better place – or why earning money can no longer be called earning money

Beat Balzli, Editor-in-Chief, WirtschaftsWoche

The financial crisis, climate crisis, housing crisis and greedy managers have damaged capitalism and the market is struggling with an image problem. Reinforced by a new generation seeking meaningful work opportunities, companies are coming under increasing pressure. They have to change, explain their raison d’être and be more than mere profit machines if they want to attract the best employees – and remain credible to their customers.

Profile
Thomas Gries

Purpose-driven brands need leadership, trust and freedom

Thomas Gries, Managing Director of Member Service, Markenverband

In his talk, Thomas Gries takes the position that a brand without a stance or clearly recognisable brand core is lacking essential attributes to be perceived by consumers in the long term and to secure a sustainable future for itself. This is not a new phenomenon. Brands with a long tradition have always had a relevant purpose that they have been able to clearly convey to their fans – and without it, they would no longer be on the market today. If brands want to achieve long-term success, they need trust, credibility and differentiation, as well as framework conditions in which to develop freely.

Profile
Mathias Friedrichs

The new consumers – what is driving the fridays for future generation?

Mathias Friedrichs, Director Consumer Insights, GfK

Ever since schoolchildren and students went on strike to demand action and prevent climate change as part of the “Fridays for Future” movement, the subject of environmental protection has been on everyone’s lips. But only 26% of the young generation are also prepared to make sacrifices for the benefit of the environment. So what is driving these young consumers? To what extent do their attitudes actually influence their consumer behaviour? And what repercussions is this target group having on society as a whole? We will be answering these and other questions in our talk. This will provide you with a basis on how to best address the “Fridays for Future” generation and align your communication in a way that is in tune with the times.

Profile
Cawa Younosi

Employee happiness: a flirtation between mathematics and cultural change

Cawa Younosi, HR Head Germany, SAP

“Change is the new normal” + “an aversion to change” = employee satisfaction. Surely not! Or maybe? Europe’s most valuable brand, Germany’s best employer, #1 DAX company in terms of market capitalisation, #49 of the most valuable companies in the world. There is no magic behind all that, but a system. Why people are the key and what kind of mindset is the catalyst will be explained by Cawa Younosi in his keynote.

Profile
Uwe Schmidt

#voranbringen (moving forward) – how Bayer is emotionalising its purpose

Uwe Schmidt, Head of Corporate Brand & Reputation Management, Bayer

Long before everyone started talking about “purpose”, Bayer had clearly formulated its own purpose for employees and society and, more importantly, also put it into practice. The analysis of attitudes in Germany towards scientific research and innovation in general, and towards the pharmaceutical and agricultural industries in particular, have revealed the need to place a greater emphasis on this purpose. This talk will highlight the most important aspects.

Profile
Michael Durach

Corporate Responsibility - Learning from Best Cases: Develey

Michael Durach, Managing Director, Develey

Michael Durach attaches great importance to making the company fit for the future. In addition to the strategic regional focus, this also includes showing responsibility for the environment. Since 2008 the Bavarian company has been implementing its successful sustainability concept – for which it received the German Sustainability Award in 2020. Find out how traditional company Develey is asserting its position on the market with a regional business model and setting itself up for the future with sustainability as its differentiating feature.

Profile

Corporate Responsibility - Learning from Best Cases: dm

Managing Director, dm

Every individual has a responsibility when it comes to sustainability. Since German drugstore chain dm-drogerie markt was founded, this attitude has been firmly embedded in the company’s philosophy and is also supported by its more than 41,000 employees nationwide on a daily basis. Global phenomena like climate change, digitalisation and changes to Germany’s demographic development are presenting companies and people with major challenges in living up to this responsibility and pursuing it in a future-oriented way. Kerstin Erbe will be showing how dm is dealing with the changes to ensure that it can continue making a difference in the future.

Profile

Purpose – Marketing catchword or driver of change?

Panel session with Ronald Focken, Managing Partner Serviceplan Group, Dr. Martell Beck, Head of Marketing & Sales BVG, and Sabine Schmittwilken, Head of Global Brand Management & Social Media innogy

The word “purpose” is on everyone’s lips right now. But is it just another empty marketing buzzword? Where do we draw the line between that and “purpose-washing”? And can purpose marketing even make a difference? During a panel session, these and other questions will be discussed by Ronald Focken, Managing Director of the Serviceplan Group, together with Dr Martell Beck, Head of Marketing & Sales at the Berliner Verkehrsbetrieben (BVG), the city-owned municipal transport operator of Berlin, and Sabine Schmittwilken, Head of Global Brand Management & Social Media at Innogy.

Profiles
Speaker_College

Do it differently – maintain a clear stance! What really defines a strong brand these days

Clarissa Moughrabi, Head of Market Research, Axel Springer

As consumers, we are currently longing for orientation, reliability and security, especially because we are living in a time of individualisation. We are looking for things we can identity with and brands and companies have to offer us that by taking a clear stance – if they don’t want to neglect the consumers’ needs and fall by the wayside. Without values, brands and companies are replaceable if they are lacking in character and purpose. An image has to be cultivated and strengthened, and it takes a long time to raise the profile. Find out why strong brands attract each other, why native advertising has been able to triumph, why brand showcasing is not a relevant topic – and what all of that has to do with attitude.

Profile
Peter Christmann

Advertise and save the planet in the process – with Media4Planet

Peter Christmann, founder of Media4Planet

It sounds so simple – and that’s because it is: with one of the core value creation processes of the media industry – communication – Media4Planet is the world’s first media model that enables the private sector to support the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals. The proceeds from its activity are used to help protect our planet. ProSiebenSat.1 is already on board as the first media partner. In his short talk, Peter Christmann, co-founder of Media4Planet, will explain how the model works in practice and also highlight the other benefits it offers advertisers.

Profile
Bachér und Heise

The channel jungle in media planning – radio and podcasts as an opportunity for value-oriented comunication

Frank Bachér, Managing Director of Digital Media, RMS Radio Marketing Service and Nele Heise, media researcher

Podcasts are an important driver of the highly exciting online audio growth we are currently seeing. For listeners and advertisers, there are countless possibilities for individual content. Due to an abundance of formats and contents, target groups can be appealed to in a very targeted way. This is reflected for example in the currently very relevant topic of sustainability. Frank Bachér, Head of Digital Media at RMS, and Nele Heise, freelance media researcher, will be pooling their expertise in this field in an inspiring talk and discussing the opportunities and potential of value-oriented communication in the audio sector.

Profiles

Sponsors

share
partyrent

Best Brands 2020

 

Best Brands College

Um den Informationscharakter von Best Brands zu unterstreichen, geht der abendlichen Preisverleihung ein fachbezogener Tageskongress voraus: Im Rahmen des Best Brands College diskutieren hochkarätige Referenten über die aktuellsten Themen aus Marketing, Markenführung und Kommunikation – das übergeordnete Thema beim College 2020 war "Die neue Währung Purpose – Wie sich Unternehmen durch eine werteorientierte Markenführung als erfolgreiche Zukunfts-Brand positionieren".

 

Best Brands College 2020

Haus der Kommunikation München
Brienner Straße 45 a-d
80333 München

19. Februar 2020
Get Together: 9 Uhr

Highlights 2020

Play
Pause
Sound off
Sound on

Agenda 2020

Speaker_1

Moderation

Kristin Rau, stellv. Ressortleiterin Innovation & Erfolg Wirtschaftswoche

  

Zum Profil

Die Weltverbesserer AG – oder warum 'Geld verdienen' nicht mehr 'Geld verdienen' heißen darf

Beat Balzli, Chefredakteur WirtschaftsWoche

Finanzkrise, Klimakrise, Wohnungskrise und gierige Manager haben dem Kapitalismus zugesetzt. Der Markt kämpft mit einem Imageproblem. Verstärkt durch das Bedürfnis einer neuen Generation nach einer sinnhaften Tätigkeit, geraten die Unternehmen zunehmend unter Druck. Sie müssen sich wandeln, sie müssen ihre Existenzberechtigung erklären, sie müssen mehr sein als reine Profitmaschinen, um die besten Mitarbeiter anzuziehen – und bei ihren Kunden glaubwürdig zu bleiben.

Zum Profil

Purpose-Driven Marken brauchen Führung, Vertrauen und Freiheit

Thomas Gries, Geschäftsführer Mitgliederservice, Markenverband

In seinem Vortrag vertritt Thomas Gries die Position, dass einer Marke ohne Haltung und ohne klar erkennbaren Markenkern wesentliche Merkmale fehlen, um von den Verbrauchern dauerhaft wahrgenommen zu werden und sich selbst eine nachhaltige Zukunft sichern zu können. Dieser Zusammenhang ist kein neues Phänomen. Marken mit langer Tradition hatten schon immer einen relevanten Purpose, den sie ihren Marken-Fans klar vermitteln konnten – denn ohne ihn wären sie heute nicht mehr auf dem Markt. Die eigentlichen Schlüsselbegriffe für nachhaltig erfolgreiche Marken sind Vertrauen, Glaubwürdigkeit und Differenzierung sowie Rahmenbedingungen, in denen sich Marken frei entfalten können.

Zum Profil

Die neuen Konsumenten – Was treibt die Generation Fridays for Future an?

Mathias Friedrichs, Director Consumer Insights bei GfK

Seitdem Schüler und Studenten unter dem Schlagwort „Fridays for Future“ medienwirksam für den Klimaschutz streiken, bewegt das Thema Umweltschutz das Land. Dabei sind nur 26 % der jungen Generation auch bereit, sich zum Wohl der Umwelt einzuschränken. Was treibt diese jungen Konsumenten also an? Inwieweit beeinflussen ihre Einstellungen tatsächlich ihr Konsumverhalten? Und welche Auswirkungen hat diese Zielgruppe auf die gesamte Gesellschaft? Diese und weitere Fragen beantworten wir in unserem Vortrag. Damit liefern wir Ihnen eine Grundlage, wie Sie die Generation „Fridays for Future“ am besten ansprechen und Ihre Kommunikation am Puls der Zeit ausrichten können.

Zum Profil

Employee Happiness: Ein Techtelmechtel zwischen Mathematik und Kulturwandel

Cawa Younosi, HR Head Germany, SAP

„Change is the new normal“ + „Veränderungsaversion“ = Mitarbeiterbegeisterung. Das kann nicht aufgehen! Oder doch? Wertvollste Brand Europas, bester Arbeitgeber Deutschlands, #1-DAX-Konzern in Sachen Marktkapitalisierung, #49 unter den wertvollsten Unternehmen der Welt. Dahinter steckt keine Magie, sondern System. Warum hierbei der Mensch der Schlüssel und ein „Doch-Mindset“ der Katalysator ist – das wird Cawa Younosi in seiner Keynote auflösen.

Zum Profil
Speaker

#voranbringen – Wie Bayer seinen Corporate Purpose emotionalisiert

Uwe Schmidt, Head of Corporate Brand & Reputation Management, Bayer AG

Schon lang bevor Purpose in aller Munde war, hatte Bayer mit „Science for a better life“ das Sinnstiftende für MitarbeiterInnen und Gesellschaft klar formuliert und, wesentlich wichtiger noch, auch gelebt. Die Analyse der Einstellung in Deutschland zu naturwissenschaftlicher Forschung und Innovation generell und zur pharmazeutischen und Agrarindustrie im Speziellen ergab die Notwendigkeit, diesen Purpose stärker in den Vordergrund zu rücken. Der Vortrag wird dazu die wichtigsten Facetten beleuchten.

Zum Profil

Verantwortung von Marken – Von Best Cases lernen: Develey

Michael Durach, Geschäftsführer Develey

Michael Durach leitet Develey gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Stefan Durach und legt Wert darauf, das Unternehmen vererbungsfähig in die Zukunft zu führen. Dazu gehört neben dem Strategiemerkmal Regionalität auch der verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit der Umwelt. Seit 2008 setzt das bayerische Traditionsunternehmen sein erfolgreiches Nachhaltigkeitskonzept um – und erhielt dafür den Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreis 2020. Erfahren Sie, wie sich das Traditionsunternehmen Develey mit einem regionalen Geschäftsmodell im Markt behauptet und sich mit dem Differenzierungsmerkmal Nachhaltigkeit zukunftsfähig aufstellt.

Zum Profil
Speaker_dm

Verantwortung von Marken - Von Best Cases lernen: dm

Kerstin Erbe, Geschäftsführerin Produktmanagement, dm

Du musst die Veränderung sein, die Du in der Welt sehen willst. Jeder Einzelne ist für nachhaltiges Handeln verantwortlich. Seit der Unternehmensgründung ist diese Haltung bei dm-drogerie markt fest in der Unternehmensphilosophie verankert und wird von den mehr als 41.000 Mitarbeitern deutschlandweit bei ihren täglichen Aufgaben mitgetragen. Globale Phänomene wie Klimawandel oder Digitalisierung sowie Veränderungen in der demografischen Entwicklung in Deutschland stellen Unternehmen und Menschen vor große Herausforderungen, dieser Haltung gerecht zu werden und sie zukunftsorientiert umzusetzen. Kerstin Erbe zeigt auf, wie dm mit dem Wandel umgeht, um in Zukunft weiterhin den Unterschied zu machen.

Zum Profil
Gesprächsrunde

Purpose - Marketing-Worthülse oder Motor für Wandel?

Ronald Focken, Geschäftsführer Serviceplan Group, im Gespräch mit Dr. Martell Beck, Bereichsleiter Marketing & Vertrieb BVG, und Sabine Schmittwilken, Head of Global Brand Management innogy

Das Thema Purpose ist in aller Munde. Handelt es sich dabei nur um ein weiteres Marketing-Buzzword? Wo liegt die Grenze zum „Purpose-Washing“? Und kann Purpose-Marketing überhaupt tatsächlich etwas bewirken? Diese und weitere Fragen diskutiert Ronald Focken, Geschäftsführer Serviceplan Group, mit Dr. Martell Beck, Bereichsleiter Marketing & Vertrieb BVG, und Sabine Schmittwilken, Head of Global Brand Management & Social Media innogy, im Rahmen dieser Gesprächsrunde.

Zu den Profilen
Speaker_College

Machen Sie es anders - bewahren Sie Haltung! Was eine starke Marke in heutigen Zeiten wirklich ausmacht

Clarissa Moughrabi, Leitung Marktforschung, Axel Springer

Wir als Konsumenten sehnen uns geradezu nach Orientierung, Verlässlichkeit und Geborgenheit, gerade weil wir im Zeitalter der Individualisierung leben. Wir suchen nach Identifikationspunkten – und das können und müssen Marken wie auch Unternehmen sein, die eine klare Haltung zeigen, wenn sie nicht an den Bedürfnissen der Konsumenten vorbeiproduzieren und damit aus der Zeit fallen wollen. Marken und Unternehmen ohne Werte sind austauschbar, wenn ihnen Charakter und das Sinnstiftende fehlt. Ein Image muss gepflegt und geschärft werden, und es braucht einen langen Atem, um an Profil zu gewinnen. Erfahren Sie, warum starke Marken sich gegenseitig anziehen, warum Native Advertising seinen Siegeszug antreten konnte, warum Markeninszenierung kein Zeitgeistthema ist – und was das alles mit Haltung zu tun hat.

Zum Profil

Werben und dabei die Erde retten – mit Media4Planet

Peter Christmann, Gründer von Media4Planet

Es klingt so einfach – und das ist es auch: Mit einem der Kernwertschöpfungsprozesse der Medienindustrie – der Kommunikation – ermöglicht es Media4Planet dem Private Sector, über das weltweit erste Modell dieser Art, die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UN zu unterstützen. Jeder Euro, der über Media4Planet abgewickelt wird, hilft unseren Planeten zu schützen. ProSiebenSat.1 ist bereits als erster Medienpartner an Bord. Wie dieses Modell in der Praxis funktioniert und welche weiteren Vorteile es für Werbetreibende mit sich bringt, erörtert Peter Christmann, Co-Founder von Media4Planet, in seinem Kurzvortrag.

Zum Profil
RMS_Vortrag

Channel Jungle in der Mediaplanung – Radio und Podcasts als Chance für werteorientierter Kommunikation

Frank Bachér, Geschäftsleiter Digitale Medien, RMS Radio Marketing Service und Nele Heise, freie Medienforscherin

Podcasts sind ein wichtiger Treiber des aktuell hochspannenden Online-Audio-Wachstums. Für Hörer und Werbungtreibende bieten sich hier viele Möglichkeiten des individuellen Contents. Durch eine Fülle von Formaten und Inhalten werden Zielgruppen sehr erreicht. Das spiegelt sich beispielsweise beim aktuellen Thema Nachhaltigkeit wider. Frank Bachér, Leiter Digitale Medien bei RMS, und Nele Heise, freie Medienforscherin, bringen ihre Expertisen in diesem Bereich in einem inspirierenden Talk zusammen und diskutieren die Chancen und Potenziale werteorientierter Kommunikation im Audiobereich.

Zu den Profilen

Kooperationspartner

share
partyrent