The Award

 

Best Brands – these are the brands that are commercially successful and trigger certain emotions: brands that shine, that stick in the mind of consumers and are associated with innovation and positive experiences.

Honouring and promoting successful brand management whilst also offering new, future-oriented communication solutions a strong forum: that is the aim of the Best Brands College and the evening’s Best Brands Gala, which has long since established itself as an annual highlight in the marketing industry. The event is hosted at the Hotel Bayerischer Hof in Munich by the Serviceplan Group, GfK (Germany’s largest market research institute), ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, the Markenverband (the German Brands Association), German publications WirtschaftsWoche, DIE ZEIT, RMS and Media Impact.

The stand-out feature of the event is that the winners are chosen not by a panel of judges but solely by consumers – for the award-winning candidates are determined in a complex, representative study conducted by GfK consumer research institute based on two key yardsticks: their actual economic success in the market place and the perceived popularity of their brand among consumers. No other brand ranking currently factors in both these aspects of brand strength.

The Categories

 

Since 2004 the award has been presented in the categories “Best Corporate Brand”, “Best Product Brand”, “Best Growth Brand” as well as a different special category that changes each year, in which the focus is on one specific industry sector. In 2019 it was the “Best Digital Life Brand” (Amazon) – in previous years the “Best Millennials’ Brand” (Nike), “Best Future Mobility Brand” (Tesla), the “Best Highest-Growth E-Commerce Brand” (Amazon) or the “Best Fashion Brand” (Hugo Boss) were chosen by consumers.

Since 2012, the “Best Corporate Brand” has also been regularly analyzed on an international level, so that in 2020 the “Best European Corporate Brand” will be awarded.

Meanwhile, the marketing prize is also awarded annually in China, Italy, Belgium and France. The first event in Russia took place in April 2019.

The Winner

Best Corporate Brand

Among the winning companies: Adidas (2019), Ikea, BMW, Porsche, Miele, Amazon, Volkswagen, Google, Lufthansa, eBay, Siemens.

In 2019, the “Best German Corporate Brand International” was awarded for the fourth time. The reputation of German companies is measured not only in Germany but also in other important export countries in the most prominent economic regions, namely the USA (for North America), China (for Asia), Brazil (for Latin America) and France (for Europe).

Best Product Brand

Among the winning companies: Lego (2019), Nivea, Coca-Cola, Nivea, Bose, Apple, Lego, Miele, Canon, Tchibo, Adidas.

Best Growth Brand

Among the winning companies: Lillet (2019), Lay’s, Ferrero Duplo, WMF, Nike, Captain Morgan, Samsung, HTC, Apple, Mey, Sony Ericsson, Motorola, Haribo.

Special Category

Among the winning companies: Amazon (Best Digital Life Brand), Nike (Best Millennials’ Brand), Tesla (Best Future Mobility Brand), Amazon (Best Highest-Growth E-Commerce-Brand), Hugo Boss (Best Fashion Brand), Adidas (Best Sports Brand), Chanel (Best Premium Beauty Brand), Gucci (Best Luxury Brand), Henkel (Best Sustainability Brand).

Detailed Insights to the Winners 2019

learn more

Der Award

 

„Best Brands“ – das sind Marken, die nicht nur wirtschaftlich erfolgreich sind, sondern auch Emotionen auslösen: Marken, die strahlen, die es in das Gedächtnis der Konsumenten geschafft haben, die mit Innovationen und positiven Erfahrungen verbunden werden.

Eine solch erfolgreiche Markenführung zu honorieren, zu fördern und gleichzeitig neuen zukunftsweisenden Kommunikationslösungen ein starkes Forum zu bieten, ist das Ziel des Best Brands Colleges und der abendlichen Best Brands Gala, die sich längst als festes Highlight der Marketingbranche etabliert hat und zu der die Serviceplan Group, GfK, die ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, die WirtschaftsWoche, der Markenverband, DIE ZEIT, RMS und Media Impact jährlich in den Bayerischen Hof nach München einladen.

Das Besondere an der Auszeichnung ist, dass nicht eine Jury, sondern einzig die Verbraucher über die Gewinner entscheiden, denn die prämierten Kandidaten werden in einer komplexen repräsentativen Studie von GfK ermittelt und an zwei wesentlichen Kriterien gemessen: an ihrem tatsächlichen wirtschaftlichen Markterfolg und an der Beliebtheit der Marke in der Wahrnehmung der Konsumenten. Kein anderes Markenranking hat bisher beide Facetten der Markenstärke berücksichtigt.

Die Kategorien

 

Seit 2004 wird der Award in den Kategorien „Beste Unternehmensmarke“, „Beste Produktmarke“, „Beste Wachstumsmarke“ sowie einer jährlich wechselnden Sonderkategorie verliehen, bei der jeweils gezielt ein Branchenzweig unter die Lupe genommen wird. 2019 war es die „Best Digital Life Brand“ (Amazon) – in den vergangenen Jahren wurden die „Best Millennials‘ Brand“ (Nike), „Best Future Mobility Marke“ (Tesla), die „Beste wachstumsstärkste E-Commerce Marke“ (Amazon) oder die „Beste Modemarke“ (Hugo Boss) ermittelt.

Seit 2012 wird die „Beste Unternehmensmarke“ auch regelmäßig auf internationaler Ebene analysiert, sodass 2020 die „Beste Unternehmensmarke in Europa“ ausgezeichnet wird.

Inzwischen wird der begehrte Marketingpreis auch jährlich in China, Italien, Belgien und Frankreich verliehen. Das erste Event in Russland fand im April 2019 statt.

Die Gewinner

Beste Unternehmensmarke

Unter den Gewinnern: Adidas (2019), Ikea, BMW, Porsche, Miele, Amazon, Volkswagen, Google, Lufthansa, eBay, Siemens.

2019 wurde zum insgesamt vierten Mal die „Beste Deutsche Unternehmensmarke International“ ausgezeichnet. Dabei wird die Reputation deutscher Unternehmen nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in weiteren wichtigen Exportländern der bedeutendsten Wirtschaftsräume gemessen, nämlich den USA (für Nordamerika), China (für Asien), Brasilien (für Lateinamerika) sowie Frankreich (für Europa).

Beste Produktmarke

Unter den Gewinnern: Lego (2019), Nivea, Coca-Cola, Bose, Apple, Lego, Miele, Canon, Tchibo, Adidas.

Beste Wachstumsmarke

Unter den Gewinnern: Lillet (2019), Lay’s, Duplo, Nike, Captain Morgan, Samsung, HTC, Apple, Mey, Sony Ericsson, Motorola, Haribo.

Sonderkategorie

Unter den Gewinnern: Amazon (Best Digital Life Brand), Nike (Best Millennials‘ Brand), Tesla (Best Future Mobility Brand), Amazon (Wachstumsstärkste E-Commerce-Marke), Hugo Boss (Beste Modemarke), Chanel (Beste Premium Beautymarke), Adidas (Beste Sportmarke), Kempinski (Beste Dienstleistungsmarke), Henkel (Beste Nachhaltigkeitsmarke), Artemide (Beste Designmarke), Gucci (Beste Luxusmarke).

Ausführliche Insights zu den Gewinnern 2019

Mehr erfahren